Only Nine Georgia State Senators Signed Petition for Special Session


Only 9 out of 35 Republican state senators signed a petition to call a special session determining Georgia’s 16 electors and addressing election fraud. In order for the petition to go through, at least 29 senators needed to sign onto it.

The state senators who signed the petition were: Brandon Beach (R-GA-Alpharetta), Burt Jones (R-Jackson), Greg Dolezal (R-Cumming), William Ligon (R-Brunswick), Matt Brass (R-Newnan), Tyler Harper (R-Ocilla), Marty Harbin (R-Tyrone), Bruce Thompson (R-White), and Steve Gooch (R-Dahlonega).

The 26 remaining Republican state senators who didn’t sign the petition were: Butch Miller (R-Gainesville), John Albers (R-Roswell), Lee Anderson (R-Grovetown), Ellis Black (R-Valdosta), Dean Burk (R-Bainbridge), Bill Cowsert (R-Athens), Mike Dugan (R-Carrollton), Bill Heath (R-Bremen), Billy Hickman (R-Statesboro), Chuck Hufstetler (R-Rome), John Kennedy (R-Macon), Kay Kirkpatrick (R-Marietta), P.K. Martin IV (R-Lawrenceville), Jeff Mullis (R-Chickamauga), Chuck Payne (R-Dalton), Randy Robertson (R-Cataula), Jesse Stone (R-Waynesboro), Brian Strickland (R-McDonough), Carden Summers (R-Cordele), Blake Tillery (R-Vidalia), Larry Walker III (R-Perry), Ben Watson (R-Savannah), John Wilkinson (R-Toccoa), Frank Ginn (R-Danielsville), Lindsey Tippens (R-Marietta), and Renee Unterman (R-Buford).

Early last month, four of the men who signed the petition – Beach, Dolezal, Ligon, and Jones – introduced the petition for a special session. The petition sought to determine Georgia’s electors. It also sought to investigate the voting irregularities and claims of voter fraud that occurred during the general election. It also aimed to nullify the consent decree signed into law by Georgia Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger last March.

Ligon also chairs the Senate Judiciary Subcommittee. The subcommittee has hosted multiple hearings since the general election concerning election irregularities that allegedly occurred during both the general election and subsequent recounts. They last held a hearing on Wednesday, concluding with a request to Fulton County to turn over all absentee mail-in ballots for inspection.

Information about which senators signed onto the petition was obtained by The Georgia Star News from multiple state senators involved in the discussion.

– – –

Corinne Murdock is a reporter at The Georgia Star News and the Star News Network. Follow her latest on Twitter, or email tips to [email protected].






Related posts

5 Thoughts to “Only Nine Georgia State Senators Signed Petition for Special Session”

  1. Tom Gilbert

    Sad isn’t it that we kept electing what we thought were patriots to our nation and concerned about their constituents. My senator, Burk, refused to vote, also. True colors!!!!

  2. Darcy Butkus

    I am so proud of my Senator, Greg Dolezal for having a backbone to do what is right for the people of Georgia and for all of the USA. I wish to thank the other 8 Senators for doing as such. Cameras don’t lie, people. What we say happening after the polls closed, looks to me like some serious wrongdoing.

    Sad that the other 26 State remaining State Senators don’t have the guts to stand up for what is right. I say vote them OUT!

  3. Dennisl

    These State Senators will go down in Georgia’s history as aiding and abetting Election and Voter Fraud effecting a National Presidential Election. They have no honor and I despise and curse all them for their cowardice, lack of patriotism and ignoring the lies and deception of the Governor and Secretary of State.

    1. Darcy Butkus

      I concur with you Dennis.