List of Georgia Candidates Participating in Loudermilk-Young Debate Series Revealed

The Georgia Star News has obtained a list of candidates who are scheduled to participate in the Loudermilk-Young Debate Series, which features candidates in various statewide and U.S. House races.

There will be separate Republican and Democrat debates for each primary.

Georgia Public Broadcasting is slated to broadcast debates scheduled for governor, U.S. House, Secretary of State, lieutenant governor, and other races, as part of the Loudermilk-Young Debate Series, which runs from May 1-3.

The Star News previously reported the debate schedule, which is as follows:

In addition to the GOP gubernatorial debate scheduled for on May 1, Republican primary debates for U.S. House districts 6, 7, 10, and 14 are scheduled to take place on the same day at different times.

On May 2, there are two debates scheduled, with one per party contest, for the Republican and Democrat primary candidates for Secretary of State. There are debates scheduled in the race for the respective party nominations for insurance commissioner on the same day.

On May 3, there are debates scheduled to include Republican and Democrat candidates for lieutenant governor and state school superintendent, and Republican candidates for U.S. Senate.

In the GOP primary for the 10th Congressional District, Trump-endorsed candidate Vernon Jones has not confirmed whether or not he will participate in the debate as of press time. People confirmed for the debate are Timothy Barr, Paul Broun, Mike Collins, David Curry, Marc McMain, Alan Sims, and Mitchell Swan.

In the 14th Congressional District, incumbent U.S. Representative Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA-14)’s status for the debate is unconfirmed. Her opponents Eric Cunningham, James Haygood, Charles Lutin, Jennifer Strahan, and Seth Synstelien are confirmed as participating.

In the 6th Congressional District debate, Jake Evans, Byron Gatewood, Meagan Hanson, Blake Harbin, Rich McCormick, Paulette Smith, Mallory Staples, Suzi Voyles, and Eugene Yu are all participating.

In the Democrat debate for the 7th Congressional District, U.S. Representative Carolyn Bourdeaux, U.S. Representative Lucy McBath, and Donna McLeod are set to face off. 

In the GOP gubernatorial debate, Catherine Davis, Governor Brian Kemp, former U.S. Senator David Perdue, and Kandiss Taylor are confirmed to participate.

In the Secretary of State debate for the Republican primary, David Belle Isle, U.S. Representative Jody Hice (R-GA-10), TJ Hudson, and incumbent Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger are set to spar. 

On the Democrat side, their Secretary of State forum is confirmed to include Dee Dawkins-Haigler, John Eaves, Floyd Griffin, Bee Nguyen, and Michael Owens.

In the Democrat race for insurance commissioner, Raphael Baker, Janice Laws Robinson, and Matthew Wilson are scheduled. On the GOP side, John King and Patrick Witt are confirmed. Ben Cowart is not confirmed.

In the Democrat primary for state school superintendent, the field of Currey Hitchens, Jaha Howard, James Morrow, and Alisha Thomas Searcy are confirmed to face off. The Republican debate will feature John Barge against the incumbent Richard Woods.

In the Democrat primary for Lt. Governor, Tyron Brooks and Rashid Malik’s participation is not confirmed, while Erick Allen, Charlie Bailey, Tony Brown, Kwanza Hall, Jason Hayes, Derrick Jackson, and Renitta Shannon are.

On the Republican side, State Senator Burt Jones (R-Jackson), State Senator Butch Miller (R-Gainesville), and Jeanne Seaver will debate. Mack McGregor is unconfirmed.

For the GOP U.S. Senate debate, Herschel Walker, who has a massive lead in both polling and fundraising, has declined to participate. Gary Black, Josh Clark, Kelvin King, Jon McColumn, and Latham Saddler have agreed to participate.

Unless a candidate has officially declined, an unconfirmed status does not necessarily indicate their lack of participation.

– – –

Aaron Gulbransen is a reporter at The Georgia Star News and The Star News Network. Email tips to [email protected]. Follow Aaron on GETTRTwitter, and Parler.


Related posts